## **Education Scrutiny Committee**

Meeting to be held on 21 July 2015

<b>Electoral Division affected:</b>
None

# Appointment of Chair and Deputy Chair, Membership, Terms of Reference and Programme of Meetings

(Appendix A refers)

Contact for further information: Janet Mulligan, Office of the Chief Executive, 01772 533651, janet.mulligan@lancashire.gov.uk

## **Executive Summary and Recommendation**

The Committee is asked to note:

- i. The appointment by the Full Council on 21 May 2015 of County Councillor Cynthia Dereli as Chair of the Committee and County Councillor Susie Charles as Deputy Chair of the Committee, for the following year.
- ii. The membership of the Committee following the County Council's Annual Meeting on 21 May 2015.
- iii. The Terms of Reference of the Committee
- iv. The agreed Programme of Meetings for 2015/16

## **Background and Advice**

The Full Council at its Annual Meeting on 21 May 2015 appointed County Councillor Cynthia Dereli as Chair of the Committee and the County Councillor Susie Charles as Deputy Chair of the Committee for the 2015/16 municipal year.

The Full Council also agreed that the Committee shall comprise 13 County Councillors (on the basis of 6 Labour members, 1 Liberal Democrat member, 5 Conservative members and 1Independent member). Nominations of County Councillors to serve on the Committee have been submitted to the Director of Governance, Finance and Public Services by the respective political groups.

The County Councillors (13) appointed to serve on the committee for the following year are:

P Buckley C Henig
S Charles K Iddon
A Cheetham A Kay
B Dawson D Lord
C Dereli G Molineux
Dr M Hassan B Murray

S Perkins



The following co-opted members will continue to serve on the Committee:

Voting Co-opted Members (5)

Mr Ian Beck – Representing RC Schools
Mr F Kershaw - Representing CE Schools
Mr K Wales - Representing Free Church Schools
Mrs J Hamid - Representing Parent Governors (Secondary)
Mr J Withington - Representing Parent Governors (Primary)

A copy of the Committee's Terms of Reference is attached at Appendix A.

At the meeting on the 18 December 2014 the full Council agreed the following programme of meetings for the Committee in 2015/16.

21 July 2015 17 November 2015 5 April 2016

Meetings will be held at 10.00 am in Cabinet Room 'C' at County Hall, Preston.

#### **Consultations**

N/A

## Implications:

This item has the following implications, as indicated:

## Risk management

There are no significant risks associated with this item.

# <u>Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985</u> <u>List of Background Papers</u>

Paper Date Contact/Directorate/Tel
Agenda/Proceedings from 18 December 2014 and Full County Council 21 May 2015 Contact/Directorate/Tel
Janet Mulligan, Democratic
Services, 01772 533361

Reason for inclusion in Part II, if appropriate N/A